Several dive sites in three states in Peninsular Malaysia have been temporary closed due to coral bleaching, a phenomenon caused by global warming  that  has increased sea water temperature. According to the Department of Marine Park, Malaysia has more than 80 dive sites.
The closure period is from July 2 until October 31, 2010 and the affected areas are listed below:



  • Pulau Payar (3 out of 8 sites) – Teluk Wangi, Pantai Damai dan Coral Garden;



  • Pulau Perhentian Besar ( 2 out of 9 sites) – Teluk Dalam, Tanjung Tukas Darat to Tanjung Tukas Laut
  • Pulau Redang (1 out of 9 sites) – Teluk Bakau
  • Pulau Tenggol  (1 out of 8 sites) – Teluk Ayer Tawar



  • Pulau Chebeh
  • Pulau Tulai – Batu Malang
  • Pulau Rengis
  • Pulau Tumok
  • Pulau Soyak


The General Director of Department of Marine Park of Malaysia, Mr. Abdul Jamal Mydin said, it was necessary to close marine parks and islands to protect the coral reefs which had turned white.

“We are monitoring the extent of coral bleaching at all marine parks in the country,” he said.

For updates and more information please surf the link: